NaNoWriMo -The Final Stretch…and Yawn

I admit in no uncertain terms that I have slacked off like a Union Laborer over the course of this past week when it comes to my writing. I was doing so well at the beginning of the month; well ahead of schedule, cranking out the word count day in and day out. Hell, even the lull of the second week doldrums didn’t get me down. I was on fire, I was a thing of sheer magnificence –

IMG_0831.PNGI was full of shit.

As you can see by this lovely metric off to the left here, I haven’t exactly been keeping up my momentum the past few days. Still, it was today that finally set me off. I let the NaNoWriMo stat graph catch up with me.

Now, to all those who might not see the merit of taking part in NaNoWriMo, I once had this to say. To those who engage alongside me, I hope you can feel me on this one. That graph made my teeth sweat. I’d been lacksadaisically passing the time, thinking ‘I’m still ahead. I’ve got plenty of time.’ When the NaNo site told me ‘At this rate you’ll finish on December 1st,’ I spit venom.

We’ve clocked 2,222 words today now, and I’m hoping to annihilate a second session before the end of the day despite having every minute of my day spoken for from here until Sunday. Still, even 1,000 word session would get me well back on track, but I admit life is honing in on my craft. Isn’t that always the way.

So to all my fellow NaNoWriMo-ers, don’t be like me. Rage against the dying of November’s light and get some freakin work done.

That is all. Back to work.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo -The Final Stretch…and Yawn

  1. Pingback: NaNo 2014 Day 20 | Side Quest Publications

Leave a Reply

